Niche Academy can help answer your questions about using the services and sites listed on this page.  If the tutorials don’t answer your question our library staff is always happy to help too. Look for the icon to link directly to the help video specific for each service.

We offer eBooks, audiobooks, magazines and streaming video that can be checked out and downloaded from home. You need a St. Joseph Public Library card in good standing to borrow these materials. The databases also provide great information and are available to use from home.  Have your library card handy to access them.  Click on the icons below to access the services.  If you need assistance call us at 232-7729.  Any branch can set up a personal help session too.

hoopla logo Your public library at your fingertips. Anytime. Anywhere. Borrow movies, music, audiobooks, ebooks, comics and TV shows to enjoy on your computer, tablet, or phone – and even your TV! Titles can be streamed immediately, or downloaded to phones or tablets for offline enjoyment later. We have hundreds of thousands of titles to choose from. Simply set up an account, select St Joseph Public Library as your library and enter your 14-digit library card number with no spaces to begin.
Kanopy offers free streaming movies with your library card.  Kanopy brings more than 30,000 of the world’s best films to stream on computers, tablets, and other mobile devices. Click or Tap for instructions on using it.
Axis360Looking for e-books or downloadable audiobooks from James Patterson, Janet Evanovich, Nora  Roberts or other best-selling authors? This collection includes lots of best-selling fiction books.
Large selection of adult, teen and children’s e-books, magazines, and downloadable audiobooks here. Streaming movies too!
Universal Class logo

The Great Courses Library Collection logo

These 4 services are available through our Missouri Libraries 2 Go Collection with the Libby App.  You can also access them on your computer by going to: https://libbyapp.com/library/molib2go and signing in with your library card.  First step: Select “Choose a Location” and “St. Joseph Public Library” then enter your 14-digit library card number with no spaces. Second step: Select “Extras” to find and access the services.

Weston Woods PlusYou’ll find kids picture book favorites brought to life with Weston Woods.  Enter your 14-digit library card number with no spaces to access the list of books.
TumbleBooksTumbleBook Library is a collection of animated, talking picture books, Read-Along chapter books, puzzles, games and more for children.
TeenBookCloud is a curated database of e-books and other digital content for Middle Schools and High School age students.  The growing collection features over 1000 titles, including student-favorite Graphic Novels, enhanced e-books with full audio narration and highlighted text, classic literature, national geographic videos, and more!
TumbleMath is your one stop destination for engaging and entertaining math stories, all in the a fun format that combines animation, narration, and sound to create a compelling and enticing story book for students of all ages.  The books are all accompanied by supplementary materials such as lesson plans, educational games, plus quizzes in order to test and track progress.
EBSCO e-books are always available with no waiting.  You’ll find fiction and non-fiction books for all ages in this collection.

ReferenceUSA is now Data Axle, Reference Solutions.  It continues to be the leading provider in business and consumer research. Reference Solutions helps users create marketing plans, conduct competitive analysis, raise funds and locate people. It provides real-time access to more than 44 Million Businesses, 270 Million Consumers, U.S. New Businesses, U.S. New Movers and Homeowners, U.S. Healthcare information, making research fast and easy. Reference Solutions quality information helps researchers, students and job-seekers answer a wide variety of questions, and saves them valuable time and money.  If you are accessing the database while visiting one of our library branches click here.

ValueLine logoValue Line Investment Research covers 3,500 stocks across 100 industries and has more than 80 years of experience in providing stock data. The database provides access to data, news and analysis to help with your investment decisions. Enter your 14-digit library card number with no spaces to access Value Line Investment Research. Click here if you are accessing the service while visiting one of our library branches.
Universal Class over 500 self-paced or instructor led classes on topics from education to business to hobbies and self-help.
NoveList connects readers to their next book by making recommendations for what to read next. One of the most popular elements is read-alikes, which suggests titles that are ‘just like’ other titles. If you’ve just finished a great book, visit NoveList and find great read-alikes. There are also read-alikes for authors and series. Consider NoveList your one-stop guide to great fiction and nonfiction reading. It contains lists of recommended reads and award-winning books.
Need a legal form valid in Missouri? We have it here. This is a do-it-yourself resource for legal assistance. We offer you the latest legal forms — fast! Enter your 14-digit library number to access the Legal Forms databases.

Provides access to articles from the St. Joseph News-Press from 1999 to current as well as access to many news magazines through “America’s News Magazines” link.  Enter your 14-digit library card number to search from home.

Find information on global issues and events, business, education, health, jobs and careers, politics, STEM and more including newspapers, videos and web-only content featuring the St. Joseph News-Press, USA Today, international sources and more. Enter your 14-digit library card number to search from home.

Search Missouri’s historic newspapers from the 1800’s to the mid- 1990’s.  If you are accessing the database while visiting one of our branches Click or Tap Here.

Want to learn a new language, or brush up on one you learned years ago? Try Transparent Language Online.  If you have used Transparent Language prior to 4/9/2021 you will need to reset your password. Click or tap on these instructions for help (a .pdf will open).
Looking for a magazine article, need information on an illness, need general information on something or looking for a great book? Try Explora. Click the Explora line above to see for yourself. Accessing outside of the library? You’ll enter your 14-digit library number to enter the database. This database is provided by MOREnet through REAL funds from the Missouri State Legislature.
Sanborn Maps LogoSearch Missouri Sanborn Fire Insurance Maps from 1867 to 1970.  Enter your 14-digit library card number with no spaces to view the maps if you are accessing the maps from home. If you are visiting one of our library branches, Click or Tap here to access.
Fold3 Library Edition provides convenient access to U.S. military records, including the stories, photos, and personal documents of the men and women who served. Original records at Fold3 help you discover and share stories about these everyday heroes, forgotten soldiers, and the families that supported them.  If you are visiting one of our branches,  Click or Tap here to access.
HeritageQuest is designed specifically for patrons in public libraries who are either just beginning their family research or who after years of work are still uncovering their past. It contains over 25,000 books, the entire US Census, and other expanding collections.

Ancestry Library Edition can be accessed at home for a limited time. Please enter your 14-digit library card number with no spaces to use this great resource. ProQuest has partnered with MyFamily.com to create Ancestry® Library Edition, one of the most important genealogical collections available today. It has unparalleled coverage of the United States and United Kingdom, including census, vital, church, court and immigration records, as well as record collections from Canada and other areas. This is a strong complement to HeritageQuest™.

LearningExpressLibraryLogoLearning Express Library is the leading source for test preparation materials and interactive practice exams based on official tests. There is now career and resume help here too. You must establish a username and password the first time you access the site.  This database is provided by MOREnet through REAL funds from the Missouri State Legislature.
EBSCOhost LogoLooking for a magazine article, need information on an illness or looking for a great book? Go to EBSCOhost for magazines, Consumer Health Complete for medical information or Explora for age-appropriate information, from kids, middle school, teens or adults. And there’s more. Click the EBSCOhost line above to see for yourself. Accessing outside of the library? You’ll enter your 14-digit library number to enter the database. This database is provided by MOREnet through REAL funds from the Missouri State Legislature.
Chilton car repair manuals are now available online from the library or at home! Chilton has the detailed information you need to tackle vehicle maintenance and repairs. Click on the Chilton icon and enter your library card number to begin.

Motorcycles & More Repair

Cyclepedia, a motorcycle and ATV repair database, is available for in-library use only at all four library branches. This database must be used in the library and each library has a different User Name and Password. If you are at the Downtown Library – your username is sjpldowntown and the password is 6dtsjpl. The East Hills Library username is sjpleasthills and the password is 8ehsjpl. The Carnegie Library username is sjplcarnegie and the password is 7cbsjpl. The Washgington Park Library username is sjplwashington and the password is 9wpsjpl.

oclc_logoNeed a book the library doesn’t have? Search for it here. If the book was published at least 6 months ago we can request it from another library.
Drivers Test PracticesMissouri Driver Education – Free practice tests for MO Department of Transportation’s written examinations.
SJPL STACKED LOGO WEB USE ONLYSearch the library catalog.  Find out what books, audiobooks, movies, music, magazines (and more!) we have available for you to check out from the library. You can log into your library account with your 14-digit library card number and your PIN. Don’t know your PIN? Ask a librarian to help you.  Need help on using the catalog?  View our Tutorial.
Salem HistorySalem History provides online access to several books the Reference Department also has available in print. Look here for information from “Milestone Documents in American History”, “Milestone Documents in African American History”, “The Twenties in America”, “The Thirties in America”, “The Forties in America”, “The Fifties in America”, “The Sixties in America”, “The Seventies in America”, “The Eighties in America”, “The Nineties in America”, “The 2000s in America”, “Great Lives from History: Inventors and Inventions” and “Great Athletes”. To access from home click above on “Salem History”. Go to the 2nd tab “Remote Access Login” and put in your 14-digit library card number.
Salem HealthMagill’s Medical Guide is available through Salem Health. It has been glowingly reviewed by every major reference reviewer. It is a staple in high school, college, public and medical school libraries. The Guide is a perfect mix of accessibility and depth, providing general readers with an authoritative reference source that helps bridge the gap between medical encyclopedias for professionals and popular self-help guides. It is an up-to-date and easy-to-use guide of medical information suitable for student research as well as use by general readers, including patients and caregivers. To access from home click on “Salem Health” above. Go to the 2nd tab “Remote Access Login” and put in your 14-digit library card number.